Under normal circumstances, pupils from the Primary Schools listed below will transfer at 11+ to Ysgol Dyffryn Aman: 
Ysgol Bro Banw, Ysgol Y Bedol, Ysgol Gymraeg Rhydaman, Llanedi, Betws, Parcyrhun, Brynaman, Saron and Tycroes.  

In recent years the catchment area of Ysgol Dyffryn Aman has been extended to include the catchment area of:
Cefneithin, Cross Hands, Llechyfedach, Llannon, Tumble, Drefach, Pontyberem, Bancffosfelen, Gwynfryn, Ponthenri, Pontiets and Carway Primary Schools, for those seeking Bilingual Catergory 2B education. 

The admission limit for the School is 280. We also have a number of preferred placements from other schools. 

Parents/Guardians of pupils who are considering entering Ysgol Dyffryn Aman are invited to attend Open Evenings during September. Pupils who enter the school in September will visit the school towards the end of the Summer Term.

For Years 7 – 11, admissions are dealt with by the Admissions Department at Carmarthenshire County Council.

Carmarthenshire’s School Admission Policy is based on the pupil’s home address and not the primary school attended. The admissions department can be contacted by phone 01267 234567 where you will be directed to the Contact Centre or by email

Information about the admissions process and school transport can be found by clicking on the link below.

Further details of the Local Authority’s school admissions policy and school transport policy are available on the ‘Education and Schools’ section of the County Council’s website. 
Information to Parents Booklet 2019/2020

Sixth Form Admissions

For admissions to the Sixth Form, please contact the Headteacher directly.

Scroll to Top